Vote for the Gramophone Artist of the Year 2011!

Who would you like to see win?

Gramophone’s critics have already been engaged for some months in the rigorous judging process by which these prestigious classical prizes are allotted – and which this year are being presented in association with Steinway & Sons. But, as tradition dictates, one of the highest-profile awards – Artist of the Year – is decided not by our reviewers but by you. Previous winners have included violinist Julia Fischer, The Sixteen and, last year's winner, mezzo Joyce DiDonato – each one rewarded for recording excellence and for a tireless commitment to enthusing audiences about classical music.

So who in 2011 do you think should be honoured for a year of musical excellence? Our shortlist for 2011 is: conductors Andris Nelsons, Gustavo Dudamel and Iván Fischer, conductor and viol player Jordi Savall, pianists Mitsuko Uchida and Lang Lang, trumpeter Alison Balsom, violinist Alina Ibragimova, tenor Jonas Kaufmann and the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Visit the voting page. The deadline is August 31. (Please note, you need to be registered to vote – if you are already registered, this link won't work.)

No comments:

Post a Comment